

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

September 7, 2022

Contact: Courtney Whetstone CAO/SVP of Marketing & Communications <u>cwhetstone@ohiochamber.com</u> 614-228-4201

# **Ohio Chamber of Commerce PAC Announces Endorsed Candidates for 2022 General Election**

COLUMBUS- The Ohio Chamber of Commerce Political Action Committee (OCCPAC) today announced the endorsement of 50 candidates for the Ohio General Assembly and 6 candidates for statewide office in the November 8 general election. The endorsements include 12 candidates for the Ohio Senate and 38 candidates for the Ohio House of Representatives. This is in addition to the previously announced endorsements for the Ohio Supreme Court in June of 2022.

"The OCCPAC confidently endorses these candidates for election in the 2022 general election," said Steve Stivers, President and CEO of the Ohio Chamber of Commerce. "Through our comprehensive research and interview process, we concluded that these candidates will fit the needs of Ohio's business community by working to create a strong, competitive economy in which businesses can thrive."

## Endorsed candidates for Statewide Office include:

- Governor: Mike DeWine
- Lt. Gov: Jon Husted
- Attorney General: Dave Yost
- Auditor of State: Keith Faber
- Treasurer of State: Robert Sprague
- Secretary of State: Frank LaRose

#### Endorsed candidates for Ohio Senate include:

- Senator Rob McColley (R) Senate District 1
- Michele Reynolds (R) Senate District 3
- Senator Steve Wilson (R) Senate District 7
- Senator Nathan Manning (R) Senate District 13
- Senator Hearcel Craig (D) Senate District 15 (Assistant Minority Whip)

- Representative Shane Wilkin (R) Senate District 17
- Senator Andrew Brenner (R) Senate District 19
- Senator Nickie Antonio (D) Senate District 23 (Assistant Minority Leader)
- Senator Kristina Roegner (R) Senate District 27
- Senator Kirk Schuring (R) Senate District 29 (Majority Floor Leader)
- Al Landis (R) Senate District 31
- Senator Michael Rulli (R) Senate District 33

### Endorsed candidates for Ohio House include:

- Representative Dontavius Jarrells (D) House District 1
- Jill Rudler (R) House District 4
- Representative Adam Miller (D) House District 6
- Representative Allison Russo (D) House District 7 (Minority Leader)
- Dave Dobos (R) House District 10
- Omar Tarazi (R) House District 11
- Representative Brian Stewart (R) House District 12
- Representative Bride Rose Sweeney (D) House District 16
- Representative Dan Troy (D) House District 23
- Chris Monzel (R) House District 28
- Representative Cindy Abrams (R) House District 29 (Assistant Majority Whip)
- Representative Bill Seitz (R) House District 30 (Majority Floor Leader)
- Representative Bill Roemer (R) House District 31
- Representative Bob Young (R) House District 32
- Steve Demetriou (R) House District 35
- Representative Andrea White (R) House District 36
- Representative Phil Plummer (R) House District 39
- Representative Derek Merrin (R) House District 42
- Representative Scott Oelslager (R) House District 48
- Representative Gayle Manning (R) House District 51
- Representative Joe Miller (D) House District 53
- Adam Mathews (R) House District 56
- Representative Jean Schmidt (R) House District 62
- Nick Santucci (R) House District 64
- Representative Sharon Ray (R) House District 66
- Representative Kevin Miller (R) House District 69
- Representative Brian Lampton (R) House District 70
- Representative Haraz Ghanbari (R) House District 75
- Representative Susan Manchester (R) House District 78
- Representative Jim Hoops (R) House District 81
- Roy Klopfenstein (R) House District 82
- Representative Jon Cross (R) House District 83
- Representative Tracy Richardson (R) House District 86
- Senator Bob Peterson (R) House District 91
- Representative Brian Baldridge (R) House District 90

- Representative Mark Johnson (R) House District 92
- Representative Ron Ferguson (R) House District 96
- Representative Darrell Kick (R) House District 98

#### Endorsed Candidates for the Ohio Supreme Court (originally released in June of 2022):

- Justice Sharon Kennedy
- Justice Pat DeWine
- Justice Pat Fischer

The OCCPAC, which finds and directs resources toward reliable, business-friendly Ohio General Assembly candidates, is committed to free enterprise and making Ohio's business climate the most competitive in the country. The endorsed incumbents have consistently proven their support for Ohio's business community and pro-growth policies that benefit all Ohioans; the OCCPAC trusts that these nonincumbents will do the same if given the opportunity.

OCCPAC utilizes a member-driven approach to endorsing candidates for elected office in Ohio, which entails a robust process that analyzes policy positions and highlights expertise on various issues. Additional factors applying to both incumbent and non-incumbent candidates include a candidate survey, personal interviews with candidates, input from member businesses and input from in-district stakeholders. Each of the endorsed candidates actively sought the OCCPAC endorsement.

Created in 1978, OCCPAC exists to unify and strengthen the voice of business in Ohio politics.

###

*Paid for by Ohio Chamber of Commerce PAC. Not authorized by any candidate or candidate committee.*